The Forgotten Summer

The Forgotten Summer

A Novel

Carol Drinkwater


  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews


“Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence—I loved this.” —Santa Montefiore, bestselling author of The French Gardener

Clarisse Cambon is devastated when the family vineyard’s annual harvest is ruined by an accident—and furious at her daughter-in-law, Jane, who she’s sure is responsible.

Jane’s longtime feud with her mother-in-law is rooted in a secret they both keep from Luc—Jane’s husband and Clarisse’s son. When tragedy strikes, Jane takes over management of the vineyard and, beset by doubts and questions, begins to look into Luc’s past to understand what he may have kept hidden from her—and what Clarisse may know . . .

An atmospheric tale of forbidden fruit, family secrets, and enduring through heartbreak from the author of An Act of Love and the beloved Olive Farm series, The Forgotten Summer will “whisk you straight to the South of France” (Marie Claire).

“A lovely book . . . plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence.” —Daily Mail


Carol Drinkwater:

An acclaimed author and filmmaker, Anglo-Irish actress Carol Drinkwater is most familiar to audiences for her award-winning portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC series All Creatures Great and Small.

After discovering olive trees on the grounds of her property in the south of France, Carol and her husband, Michel, became producers of top-quality olive oil. Carol’s books recounting her experiences on her farm, the Olive Farm series, have become international bestsellers and inspired a multi-part documentary series entitled The Olive Route. Carol was invited to work with UNESCO to help fund an Olive Heritage Trail around the Mediterranean with the dual goals of creating peace in the region and honoring the ancient heritage of the olive tree.